November 2018 Reading List

November gave me a lot of things. I new website and brand, time with family, and the lead in to my first trip out of the country. What it did not give me? A ton of extra time to read.

By now you all know that reading is a huge form of self care for me. It helps me sleep better, think better and work better. Most importantly, it helps me write better –which is kind of important since words are a huge part of my life. So even when there seems to be no time, I’ll always find some way to sneak in a chapter here or there or listen to an audiobook for a few minutes.

I’ve been in a weird reading mood for the past few weeks, so this month’s reading list is a mix of magical realism, non-fiction, romance and a bit of distopian. My life was all over the place, and my reading was, too.

What I Read in November

One Dark Throne by Kendare Blake

Rating: 4/5 stars

What I liked/disliked: This is the second book in a series, so I won’t spoil anything! But I love the plot, action, politics and adventure just as much this time around! I can’t wait to pick up the third.

The Proposal by Jasmine Guillory

Rating: 5/5 stars

What I liked/disliked: I love a well done, cringe free, unproblematic romance novel. Jasmine Guillory always delivers! I adored her first book, and loved this one just as much. The characters are a little exaggerated, but fun and very likable. Highly recommend this and The Wedding Date!

Vox by Christina Dalcher

Rating: 5/5 stars

What I liked/disliked: Yupp, one of my new favorite books of the year! This dystopian has a bit of everything: scandal, love, politics and so much action. I was always on edge for what would happen next! Set in a world where women can only speak 160 words a day, you’ll get Handmaid’s tale vibes from beginning to end (only the main character is much more likeable than June).

Becoming by Michelle Obama

Rating: 5/5 stars (obviously)

What I liked/disliked: I disliked nothing. This book was perfect. A look into the woman behind the FLOTUS. I loved learning about her roots and how they carried her to the White House and beyond. She’s super vulnerable in this book, and very authentic. You can tell this was cathartic for her to write. It made me long for a time when the first family was one that I acknowledged.

What are you reading lately?

Shop books

First We Make the Beast Beautiful by Sarah Wilson
The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Lesyle Walton
Vox by Christina Dalcher
The Proposal by Jasmine Guillory
One Dark Throne by Kendare Blake
Daily Rituals by Mason Currey
Juno Valentine and the Magical Shoes by Eva Chen
Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie
Becoming by Michelle Obama
Dating You Hating You by Christina Lauren
Love and Other Words by Christina Lauren
Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo
Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake
The Bullet Journal Method by Ryder Carroll
The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang
Unwifeable by Manda Stadtmiller
Follow:
Share:

1 Comment

  1. December 15, 2018 / 12:49 am

    I didn’t read for the first two weeks of December because I was swept up in festivities and feeling a little overwhelmed by other things, but early this week I finally picked up a book and I devoured it. I stayed up until 4AM to read it all in one go… I guess I was having a bit of reading withdrawal haha. The book was One Day in December by Josie Silver, which you’ve probably heard of via BOTM. It’s a cute romance that’s especially cosy for the holidays. People have been saying it’s perfect for fans of Love Actually. // I’m so glad that you enjoyed Vox as it’s the book I was most interested in from your previous haul! I’ve downloaded an e-copy so it’s near the top of my TBR. My friend read Becoming and couldn’t stop telling me how great it was, so that’s on my list too, but I haven’t got a copy of it yet! -Audrey | Brunch at Audrey’s

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *